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EXEMPTIONS:  A peace offi  cer as defi ned in the Private Detective, Private Alarm, Private Security, Fingerprint Vendor, 
and Locksmith Act is exempt from the requirements relating to the possession of a fi rearm control card. The employing 
agency shall remain responsible for any peace offi  cer employed under this exemption.

A person employed as an armed security guard at a nuclear energy, storage, weapons, or development site or facility 
regulated by the Nuclear Regulatory Commission who has completed the background screening and training mandated 
by the rules and regulations of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission is exempt from registration for a fi rearm control card.

1. Please type or print.

2. Applicant must be at least 21 years of age to apply for a fi rearm control card.

3. Disclosure of your U.S. social security number or ITIN, if you have one, is mandatory, in accordance with 5 Illinois 
Compiled Statutes 100/10-65. The social security number may be provided to the Illinois Department of Public Aid 
to identify persons who are more than 30 days delinquent in complying with a child support order, or to the Illinois 
Department of Revenue to identify persons who have failed to fi le a tax return, pay tax, penalty or interest shown 
in a fi led return, or to pay any fi nal assessment or tax penalty or interest, as required by any tax Act administered 
by the Illinois Department of Revenue, or to other entities for verifi cation of identifi cation.  

4. The name shown for the employee or licensee to whom the card will be issued must be as it appears on the per-
manent employee registration card or on the private detective, private security contractor, and/or private alarm 
contractor license that the applicant possesses.  An application for a fi rearm control card may be completed by a 
licensed private detective, private security contractor, or private alarm contractor working on their own behalf.

5. Applicant must have a verifi able fi rearm training number (see item 6 of applicant section) to be eligible for fi rearm 
control card. The 40-hour fi rearm training course must have been completed within 2 years preceding this appli-
cation or employee must show proof of requalifi cation within the last year.

6. A $75 processing fee, made payable to the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation, must 
accompany this application. There will be a $45 triennial fee required for renewal of this card. All fees are nonre-
fundable.

7. The fi rearm control card shall be retained by the employee for the term of employment. Upon termination of em-
ployment,  the card shall be returned to the Department by the employer. The fi rearm control card will expire on 
date specifi ed on face of the card.

8. Child support statement and state tax statement must be answered.

9. Send application and fee to:  Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
      Attn:  Division of Professional Regulation
      320 West Washington Street, 3rd Floor
      Springfi eld, Illinois 62786

APPLICATION FOR FIREARM CONTROL CARD
FOR LICENSEE/LICENSED AGENCIES

INSTRUCTIONS

IL486-1314   2/24   (DE)



IL486-1314          (DE)

THIS  SECTION  TO  BE  COMPLETED  BY  APPLICANT/LICENSEE
2. UNITED STATES SOCIAL  SECURITY  NUMBER  OR  ITIN

4. INDIVIDUAL  LICENSE  NUMBER,  IF  APPLICABLE (115-, 119-, or 124  
Only use one prefi x.)

1. NAME OF EMPLOYEE/LICENSEE TO WHICH CARD WILL BE ISSUE  
(Last, First, Middle Initial)

3. E-MAIL ADDRESS (REQUIRED)

8. PERSONAL  DATA (See reverse side for assistance in completing this  
portion.)

9.

7. F.O.I.  NUMBER  (You must attach a legible photocopy of active F.O.I.D. 
card.)

I have been trained on the following weapon(s):
Type:          Last Qualifi cation Date (M/D/Y)

 Revolver   _____ / _____ / ________

 Semi-automatic  _____ / _____ / ________

 Shotgun   _____ / _____ / ________

 Rifl e   _____ / _____ / ________

5. PERC
129-
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APPLICATION  FOR  FIREARM  CONTROL  CARD 
FOR  LICENSEE/LICENSED  AGENCIES

IMPORTANT  NOTICE:  Eff ective July 13, 2012, submit a non-refundable fee of $75 made 
payable to IDFPR. Completion of this form is necessary for consideration for licensure under 
225 of the Illinois Compiled Statutes 447/1et. seq. Disclosure of this information is REQUIRED.  
However, failure to comply may result in this form not being processed.  

FOR OFFICIAL USE ONLY

A. Height:     _________

B. Weight:     _________

C. Date of Birth: _________

D. Hair Color:     _________

E. Eye Color: _________

F. Race: _________

G. Sex: _________

THE  EMPLOYING  AGENCY/LICENSEE   MUST  COMPLETE  PAGE  2

Agency / Licensee Number - This box to be completed by the Division of Professional Regula-
tion:

10. Have you ever had an Illinois license or registration disciplined based upon a violation of the Illinois Private
 Detective, Private Alarm, Private Security, Fingerprint Vendor, and Locksmith Act or administrative rule? Yes No 

If yes, include a detailed explanation of the nature of the off ense and the fi nal disposition of the case.

11. Have you been convicted of or pled guilty or nolo contendere to any criminal off ense in any state or in federal court? Please do not 
give details on minor traffi  c charges, but do include information relating to Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) charges. If yes, attach a 
personal statement describing the circumstances of the conviction and certifi ed copies of court records of your conviction including 
the nature of the off ense, date of discharge, and a statement from the probation or parole offi  ce.  In general, a criminal conviction by 
itself does not usually result in denial of licensure.

13. Have you ever been dishonorably discharged from the armed services or from a city, country, state of 
 federal position?  If yes, attach explanation.   Yes No
14. In accordance with 5 Illinois Compiled Statutes 100/10-65(c), applications for renewal of a license or a new license
  shall include the applicant's Social Security number, and the licensee shall certify, under penalty of perjury, that he 
 or she is not more than 30 days delinquent in complying with a child support order.  Failure to certify shall result 
 in disciplinary action, and making a false statement may subject the licensee to contempt of court.

 Are you more than 30 days delinquent in complying with a child support order?                                                             
 (NOTE:  If you are not subject to a child support order, answer "no.")

Yes    No

15. In accordance with 20 ILCS 2105-15(g), "The Department shall deny any license application or renewal authorized under any    
 licensing Act administered by the Department to any person who has failed to fi le a return, or to pay the tax, penalty, or interest    
 shown in a fi led return, or to pay any fi nal assessment of tax, penalty, or interest, as required by any tax Act administered by the    
 Illinois Department of Revenue, until such time as the requirement of any such tax Act is satisfi ed." 

 Are you delinquent in the fi ling of state taxes? 

Yes     No

Yes    No

6. FIREARM  TRAINING  NUMBER  
230-

12. Do you now have any disease or condition that presently limits your ability to perform the essential functions of your profession, 
including any disease or condition generally regarded as chronic by the medical community, i.e., (1) mental or emotional disease or 
condition; (2) alcohol or other substance abuse; (3) physical disease or condition? If yes, attach a detailed statement, including an 
explanation whether or not you are currently under treatment.

Yes     No

Signature of Employee/Licensee: Date:



THIS  SECTION  TO  BE  COMPLETED  BY  EMPLOYING  AGENCY/LICENSEE

I UNDERSTAND THAT FEES ARE NOT REFUNDABLE.  My signature above authorizes the Department of Financial and Professional 
Regulation to reduce the amount of this check if the amount submitted is not correct.  I understand this will be done only if the amount 
submitted is greater than the required fee hereunder, but in no event shall such reduction be made in an amount greater than $50.

INSTRUCTIONS  FOR  ABBREVIATIONS  OF  PERSONAL  DATA
FOR  BOX 8 ON PAGE 1 OF THE APPLICATION

A. HEIGHT

 Express in feet and inches respectively.
 (Do not use fractions of an inch; round
 off  to the nearest inch.

 Example: 5'11": 511
  6'0": 600
   70": 510

B. WEIGHT

 Express in pounds.
 (Do not use fractions of a pound;
  round off  to the nearest pound.)

 Example:  94 lbs: 094
  186 lbs: 186

C. DATE  OF  BIRTH

 Month/Day/Year

D. HAIR   COLOR  

 *Bald  BAL
  Black  BLK
  Blond or Strawberry BLN
  Brown  BRO
  Gray or Partially Gray GRY
  Red or Auburn RED
  Sandy  SDY
  White  WHI

 *Bald (BAL) is to be used when subject has
  lost most of the hair on his head or is hair  

less.  

E. EYE  COLOR

 Black BLK Green GRN
 Blue BLU Hazel HAZ
 Brown BRO Maroon MAR
 Gray GRY Pink PNK

F. RACE

 White  W
 Black  B
 Asian/Pacifi c Islander A
 American Indian/Alaskan I
 Unknown  U

G. SEX

 Male  M
 Female  F
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1. NAME  OF  AGENCY/LICENSEE  AS  IT  APPEARS  ON  LICENSE 

4.  NAME OF LICENSEE IN CHARGE OF AGENCY/LICENSEE3. ADDRESS  OF  AGENCY/LICENSEE  (Street, City, State, Zip Code)

5. AGENCY  LICENSE  NUMBER (117-, 122-, or 127 -Only use one prefi x.) 6.  LICENSE NUMBER OF LICENSEE OR LICENSEE IN CHARGE 
 (115-, 119-, or 124 - Only use one prefi x.)

Date:Signature of Licensee or Licensee in Charge:
(Licensee or Licensee in Charge)

2. AGENCY/LICENSEE TELEPHONE NUMBER

( ___ ___ ___) ___ ___ ___—___ ___ ___ ___

7. E-MAIL ADDRESS OF LICENSEE IN CHARGE (REQUIRED)

N
A

M
E (Last, First, M

I):    ___________________________________________   SSN
 O

R
 ITIN

:  _____________________  Profession:  ____________________



IMPORTANT NOTICE:  Completion of this form 
is necessary to accomplish the requirements 
outlined in 225 ILCS 447/1 et. seq. (Illinois 
Compiled Statues).  Disclosure of this information 
is REQUIRED.  Failure to provide this information 
could result in a penalty as outlined in said Act.  

RETURN TO:

CARD  TERMINATION
 Upon termination, for any reason, of the employment of the individual to whom card marked below has been issued, it is the respon-

sibility of the licensee-in-charge or security director to return the card to the Department.  The card must be returned within 72 hours 
of such termination.

 To return the card, Section I of this form must be completed, the card must be attached to the form and mailed to the Department at 
the address shown at the top of this form.

 If the card cannot be obtained for return to the Department, Section II of this form  MUST be completed and submitted to the De-
partment within 72 hours of termination of the individual’s employment.

 Failure to comply with these requirements is grounds for discipline of the license of the licensee-in-charge for agencies licensed by 
this Department.

SECTION I--PERTAINS TO CARD WHICH HAS BEEN RETURNED  (ATTACH CARD TO FORM)
1. EMPLOYEE NAME (Last, First, Middle Initial) 2. SSN  OR  ITIN

4. DATE OF EMPLOYEE’S TERMINATION3. 

___  ___  ___ - ___  ___ - ___  ___  ___  ___

___  ___  / ___  ___  / ___  ___  ___  ___
 Month Day Year

I attest that the above-named employee left the employment of this agency or Proprietary Security Force as indicated and I am hereby 
returning the card marked above issued to said individual.

Signature_____________________________________________ _________________________________________________

  _____________________________________________ _________________________________________________ 

Licensee-in-Charge or Security Director

License Number of Licensee-in-Charge
(Not Applicable for Proprietary Security Force)

Name of Agency or Proprietary Security Force

License Number of Agency or Registration Number
of Proprietary Security Force

I attest that the above-named employee left the agency or Proprietary Security Force as shown above.

Signature_____________________________________________ _________________________________________________

  _____________________________________________ _________________________________________________ 

IL486-1393  2/24 (DE)

Licensee-in-Charge or Security Director

License Number of Licensee-in-Charge
(Not Applicable for Proprietary Security Force)

Name of Agency or Proprietary Security Force

License Number of Agency or Registration Number
of Proprietary Security Force

STATE  OF  ILLINOIS
DEPARTMENT OF FINANCIAL AND PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

ATTN: DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
320 West Washington Street, 3rd Floor

Springfi eld, Illinois  62786

SECTION II--PERTAINS TO CARD WHICH HAS NOT BEEN RETURNED
A.  EMPLOYEE NAME (Last, First, Middle Initial) B. SSN  OR  ITIN

D.  EMPLOYEE FIREARM OWNER’S I.D. CARD NUMBER (For FCC only)

___  ___  ___ - ___  ___ - ___  ___  ___  ___

E.   EXPIRATION DATE OF FIREARM CONTROL CARD

F.  DATE EMPLOYEE LEFT AGENCY

___  ___  / ___  ___  / ___  ___  ___  ___
 Month Day Year

Check the box below that pertains to the card being returned for the employee listed on the form:
CANINE HANDLER AUTHORIZATION CARD

CANINE TRAINER AUTHORIZATION CARD

FIREARM CONTROL CARD 

CANINE HANDLER AUTHORIZATION CARD NUMBER 

CANINE TRAINER AUTHORIZATION CARD NUMBER 
FIREARM CONTROL CARD NUMBER 

267 - 

266 - 

229 - 

C. CANINE HANDLER AUTHORIZATION CARD NUMBER 

CANINE TRAINER AUTHORIZATION CARD NUMBER 
FIREARM CONTROL CARD NUMBER 

267 - 

266 - 

229 - 

G.  THE  CARD  MARKED  ABOVE  IS  NOT  ATTACHED  FOR  THE  FOLLOWING  REASON(S):


