
Range Instructor recognized and approved by the Illinois Police Training Board
Law Enforcement Firearm Instructor course recognized and approved by the National Rifl e Association
Other fi rearm instructor training

DATE OF GRADUATIONDATES OF ATTENDANCE
From                          To

IL486-1122    2/24   (DE)

NAME  OF  INSTITUTION  ADDRESS
18. INSTRUCTOR  EDUCATION

19. QUALIFICATIONS - Check below the type of qualifi cations you have that meet the requirements as referenced in Section 1240.515 of the Illinois Private 
Detective... Rules at www.idfpr.illinois.gov.  Submit verifi ed proof of same.

APPLICATION  FOR REGISTRATION  AS  
A  

 REGISTERED  FIREARM  INSTRUCTOR

IMPORTANT NOTICE: Completion of this 
form is necessary for consideration for 
licensure under 225 ILCS 447/1 et. seq. 
(Illinois Compiled Statutes).  Disclosure 
of this information is VOLUNTARY.  
However, failure to comply may result in 
this form not being processed. 

Carefully follow all steps outlined on the INSTRUCTIONS  FOR  MAKING  APPLICATION  AS  A  REGISTERED FIREARM INSTRUCTOR.  
In addition, note the following: the registration fee is  NOT REFUNDABLE.              INCLUDE A COPY OF YOUR VALID FOID CARD.
PART  I:  Application Category Information

2. PROFESSION  CODE 3. LICENSURE  METHOD 4. FEE1. PROFESSION  NAME
REGISTERED  FIREARM 

INSTRUCTOR
  2     6    3   $75.00NON-EXAM

PART  II:  Applicant Identifying Information

4. CITY 5. COUNTY 6. STATE 7. ZIP  CODE3. HOME STREET ADDRESS

11. AGE10. DATE OF BIRTH (Month/Day/Year)8.  E-MAIL ADDRESS  (REQUIRED)

2. UNITED STATES SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER  OR  ITIN:1. NAME (Last Name, First Name, Middle Initial)
_______ - _____ - ________

FAI

13. YES          NO          

14. YES          NO          

15. YES          NO          

16. YES          NO          

17. YES          NO          

 Do you now have any disease or condition that presently limits your ability to perform the essential functions of your profession, including 
any disease or condition generally regarded as chronic by the medical community, i.e., (1) mental or emotional disease or condition; 
(2) alcohol or other substance abuse; (3) physical disease or condition? If yes, attach a detailed statement, including an explanation 
whether or not you are currently under treatment.
Have you ever been dishonorably discharged from the armed forces of the United States? If yes, attach explanation.

In accordance with 5 Illinois Compiled Statutes 100/10-65(c), applications for renewal of a license or a new license shall include the 
applicant's Social Security number, and the licensee shall certify, under penalty of perjury, that he or she is not more than 30 days 
delinquent in complying with a child support order. Failure to certify shall result in disciplinary action, and making a false state-
ment may subject the licensee to contempt of court.

Are you more than 30 days delinquent in complying with a child support order?
(NOTE: If you are not sublect to a child support order, answer "no").

 In accordance with 20 ILCS 2105-15(g), "The Department shall deny any license application or renewal authorized under any 
licensing Act administered by the Department to any person who has failed to fi le a return, or to pay the tax, penalty, or interest 
shown in a fi led return, or to pay any fi nal assessment of tax, penalty, or interest, as required by any tax Act administered by the 
Illinois Department of Revenue, until such time as the requirement of any such tax Act is satisfi ed." 

 Are you delinquent in the fi ling of state taxes?

21. CERTIFYING STATEMENT
I hereby certify that I personally completed this application, that the answers appearing hereon are true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief 
and that I am legally authorized to sign this application.

Signature (in full-use no initials) Date

9. TELEPHONE  NUMBER

20. CHECK THAT A COPY OF YOUR VALID FOID IS ATTACHED.

 Have you been convicted of or pled guilty or nolo contendere to any criminal off ense in any state or in federal court? Please do not give 
details on minor traffi  c charges, but do include information relating to Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) charges. If yes, attach a personal 
statement describing the circumstances of the conviction and certifi ed copies of court records of your conviction including the nature 
of the off ense, date of discharge, and a statement from the probation or parole offi  ce.  In general, a criminal conviction by itself does 
not usually result in denial of licensure.

12. YES          NO           Have you ever had an Illinois license or registration disciplined based upon a violation of the Illinois Private Detective, Private Alarm, 
Private Security, Fingerprint Vendor, and Locksmith Act or administrative rule? If yes, include a detailed explanation of the nature of 
the off ense and the fi nal disposition of the case.

Packet Updated 2/14/24



Before completing the application package, read each of the steps below and follow them as they apply to you. This will aid 
you in accurately completing your application and eliminate any delay in processing. The application which you submit is 
valid for three years from the date of receipt.

APPLICATION  INSTRUCTIONS

1. Complete the application in its entirety. An incomplete or illegible application will be returned. Type or print in black ink.
2. Applicant must be at least 21 years of age.
3. Disclosure of your U.S. social security number, if you have one, is mandatory, in accordance with 5 Illinois Compiled 

Statutes 100/10-65 to obtain a license.  The social security number may be provided to the Illinois Department of Public 
Aid to identify persons who are more than 30 days delinquent in complying with a child support order, or to the Illinois 
Department of Revenue to identify persons who have failed to fi le a tax return, pay tax, penalty or interest shown in a 
fi led return, or to pay any fi nal assessment or tax penalty or interest, as required by any tax Act administered by the 
Illinois Department of Revenue, or to other entities for verifi cation of identifi cation.

4. Submit a non-refundable registration fee of $75.00, made payable to the Department of Financial and Professional 
Regulation.

5. Attach a copy of your valid FOID card as issued by the Illinois State Police.

6. Forward application, supporting documentation, and fee payment to:  

   Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
   ATTN:  Division of  Professional Regulation
   P.O. Box 7007 
   Springfi eld, Illinois  62791

INSTRUCTIONS  FOR  MAKING  APPLICATION  FOR  A
REGISTERED FIREARM INSTRUCTOR

IL486-1122   (DE)

The application for a Registered Firearm Instructor (FAI) is to be completed if you have never applied as a 
fi rearm instructor with the Division of Professional Regulation. All approvals for fi rearm instructors shall expire 
on December 31, 2017 and every fi ve years thereafter.


