CONTINUING EDUCATION FACT SHEET
HAIR BRAIDER TEACHER

©® Do not submit proof of continuing education (CE) unless specifically requested by the Department

of Financial and Professional Regulation.

® You need not comply with CE if this is your first renewal after licensure obtained by completing an
approved 500 or 600 hour hair braiding teacher program.

® You may access the Illinois Barber, Cosmetology, Esthetics, Hair Braiding and Nail Technology Act
and Administrative Rules on our Web site @ www.idfpr.com and then select " Division of Professional

Regulation."

Continuing Education (CE) Hour
Requirements

® Arencwal applicant shall not be required to comply
with CE for the first renewal after licensure obtained
by completing an approved 500 or 600 hour hair
braiding teacher program.,

@® A licensee shall be required to complete 20 hours
of continuing education relevant to the practice
during the prerenewal period. A prerenewal period
is 24 months preceding October 31 in the year of the
renewal.

® Coursesthat are part of the curriculum of a university
or college shall be allotted 15 CE credit hours for
each semester hour or 10 CE hours for each quarter
hour of school credit awarded.

® Hair Braider Teachers licensed in 1llinois butresiding
inother states shall comply with the CE requirements
set forth in Section 1175.1210 (f) of the Rules.

@ A list of approved CE Sponsors is available at
our Web site @ www.idfpr.com, under specific
profession name, i.e., Hair Braider.
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Activities For Which CE Credit
May Be Earned

Only classes that directly relate to a licensee’s ability
to practice under the scope of his/her license will be
accepted by the Department as meeting that licensee’s
continuing education requirement. For example, a class
in chemical processing of the hair may be acceptable
for a cosmetology teacher but not for a hair braider
teacher, because the hair braider teacher cannot work
with chemicals on a client’s hair.

For renewals after the intial renewal, 10 of the required
24 hours of continuing education shall be in the following
areas:

A. Teaching methodology;

B. Education psychology;

C. Classroom management; or

D. Other teaching related courses.

CE Self-Study Courses

Up to one-half of the total CE hours required for renewal
may be earned through self-study courses. ACE sponsor
who is licensed with the Department of Financial and
Professional Regulation must provide the courses.

CE Earned in Other Jurisdictions

If a licensee has earned CE hours in another state not
given by an Illinois approved sponsor for which the
lisensee will be claiming credit toward full compliance
in lllinois, the applicant shall submit an Qut-of-State
Continuing Education Form, along with a $10 processing
fee, for each class, within 90 days prior to expiration
of the license. The Board shall review and recommend
approval or disapproval of the program. Applicants
may seek individual program approval prior to the
participation in the program.

Toobtainan application access our Web site, www.idfpr.
com, and select "Division of Professional Regulation™.
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Certification of Compliance with
Continuing Education Requirements

1) Each renewal applicant shall certify, on the
renewal application, to full compliance with the
CE requirements.

2) The Department may require additional evidence
demonstratingcompliance withthe CErequirements.
It is the responsibility of each renewal applicant
10 Tetain or otherwise produce evidence of such
compliance.

Procedures for Requesting a Waiver of the
Continuing Education Requirement

If you have not completed the CE requirement, you
MUST either place your license on inactive status or
submit a completed renewal application, along with
the renewal fee and a request for waiver of the CE
requirement. Requests fora waiverofthe CE requirement
must be submitted prior to the expiration date of your
current license. The request fora waiver MUST be based
on one of the following reasons:

A) Full-time service in the armed forces of the U.S.
during a substantial part of the prerenewal period.
In addition to the written waiver request, you must
also submit verification of the start and end date
of the active duty.

B) Anincapacitating illness. Inaddition to the written
waiver request, you must also submit a doctor's
statement that includes the diagnosis and the start
and end date of the treatment.

C) Substantial financial hardship. In addition to the
written waiver request, you must submit a copy of
your most recently filed federal tax return.

D) Absence of opportunities for CE. (This means
there were no CE programs offered in the area in
which youreside.) Inaddition tothe written waiver
request, youmust document your attempts to obtain
CE in your area. (You may obtain up to one-half
of your hours through self-study.)

How the Department Processes Your
Continuing Education Waiver Request if
You Have Not Completed Your Continuing
Education Requirements

The Department of Financial and Professional
Regulation, Division of Professional Regulation, makes
every effort to process your renewal in a timely fashion.
The renewal process is delayed when all of the questions
on the application are not answered, when supporting
documentation is missing, the fee is incorrect or missing,
or your check is not signed.

If the Department determines your application, waiver
request, and other documentation are in proper order, a
new license will be issued.

The issuance of your license at this time does
not mean your request has been approved. It
simply enables you to continue to practice until
a final determination has been made regarding
the request.

The Board will review your waiver request and then
make a recommendation to the Director.

If your request for waiver is approved, you will be
notified in writing.

If your request for waiver is denied, you will receive
written notification of the denial and your license will
be placed into a nondisciplinary non-renewed status.

DFPR WEB SITE @ www.idfpr.com

Visit the Department's Web site. A number of services
are available on the Web. By selecting the "Division
of Professional Regulation,” you may confirm a license,
submit a complaint, download application packets, and
send e-mails to DFPR.

eligible to renew on the Internet.

NOTE: If you are requesting a waiver of the continuing education requirement, you are not

Reminder -- All Salons/Shops MUST be registered with the Department of Financial and Professional Regulation, Division
of Professional Regulation. Registration requirement applies to all shops/salons including those located in a private
residence, nursing home, hospital, hotel, etc. Registration is the responsibility of the shop owner. An application may be
downloaded from our website. Failure to register a shop/salon may result in discipline.

CE-HB-TEACH



