CONTINUING EDUCATION FACT SHEET
ESTHETICS TEACHER

® Do not submit proof of continuing education (CE) unless specifically requested by the Department.

©® You need not comply with CE if this is your first renewal

® You may access the Illinois Barber, Cosmetology, Esthetics, Hair Braiding and Nail Technology Act
and Administrative Rules on our Web site (@ www.idfpr.com.

Continuing Education (CE) Hour
Requirements

In order to renew a license, a licensee shall be
required to complete 20 hours of CE between the
October 1st and September 30th renewal period.

® CE must be obtained through a Licensed CE
Sponsor.

@ Esthetics teachers licensed in Illinois but residing in
other states shall comply with the CE requirements
set forth in Section 1175.1210 f) of the Rules.

® A list of approved CE Sponsors is available at

our Web site (@ www.idfpr.com, under specific
profession name, i.e., Esthetics Teacher.

Activities For Which CE Credit
May Be Earned

Only classes that directly relate to a licensee's
ability to practice under the scope of his/her license
will be accepted by the Department as meeting that
licensee's continuing education requirement, Section
1175.1200 ¢) of the Rules. For example, a class in
chemical processing of the hair may be acceptabie
for a cosmetology teacher but not for an esthetics
teacher, because the esthetics teacher cannot work
on a client's hair.

Classes in medical procedures and diagnosis are
not acceptable for cosmetologists, estheticians, nail
technicians, or corresponding teachers because all
of these professions are prohibited from making
medical diagnosis or providing medical treatment;
i.e., reflexology, botox injections, acne treatment, or
laser hair removal.

Ten of the required 20 hours of continuing education
shall be in the following areas:

A. Teaching methodology;
B. Education psychology;
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C. Classroom management; or
D. Other teaching related courses.

The following subject areas have been approved for
the remaining 10 hours:

A. Advanced product chemistry and chemical
interaction

. The use of machines and implements
. Sanitary procedures

. Hazardous chemicals

Exposure minimization
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Updated use of implements as they relate to
applicable services under the Act

Q

. Advanced knowledge of the anatomy of the skin,
scalp, hair and/or nails

H. Human relations/communication skills

—

Management and marketing

CE Self-Study Courses

Up to one-half of the total CE hours required for
renewal may be earned through self-study courses.
A CE sponsor who is registered with the Department
of Financial and Professional Regulation must provide
the courses.

CE Earned in Other Jurisdictions

If a licensee has eammed CE hours in another state
not given by an Illinois approved sponsor for which
the licensee will be claiming credit toward full
compliance in Illinois, the applicant shall submit an
Out-of-State Continuing Education Form, along with
a $10 processing fee, within 90 days after completion
of the course. The Board shall review and recommend
approval or disapproval of the program. Applicants
may seek individual program approval prior to the
participation in the program,
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Certification of Compliance with
Continuing Education Requirements

1) Each renewal applicant shall certify, on the
renewal application, to full compliance with the
CE requircments.

2) The Department may require additional
evidence demonstrating compliance with the
CE requirements It is the responsibility of each
renewal applicant to retain or otherwise produce
evidence of such compliance.

Procedures for Requesting a Waiver of th
Continuing Education Requirement

If you have not completed the CE requirement you
MUST either place your license on inactive status
or submit a completed renewal application, along
with the renewal fee and a request for waiver of the
CE requirement. Requests for a waiver of the CE
requirement must be submitted prior to the expiration
date of your current license, along with the rencwal
fee. The request for a waiver MUST be based on
one of the following reasons:

A) Full-time service in the armed forces of the U.S.
during a substantial part of the prerenewal period.
In addition to the written waiver request, you
must also submit verification of the start and
end date of the active duty;

B) An incapacitating illness. In addition to the
written waiver request, you must also submit
a doctor's statement that includes the diagnosis
and the start and end date of the treatment.

C) Substantial financial hardship. In addition to the
written waiver request, you must submit a copy
of your most recently filed federal tax return.

D) Absence of opportunities for CE. (This means
there were no CE programs offered in the area
in which you reside.) In addition to the written
waiver request, you must document your attempts
to obtain CE in your area. (You may obtain up
to one-half of your hours through self-study.)

How the Department Processes Your
Continuing Education Waiver Request if
You Have Not Completed Your Continuing
Education Requirements

The Department of Financial and Professional
Regulation makes every effort to process your renewal
in a timely fashion. The renewal process is delayed
when all of the questions on the application are not
the fee is incorrect or missing, or your check is not
signed.

If the Department determines your application, waiver
request, and other documentation are in proper order,
a new license will be issued.

The issuance of your license at this time does
not mean your request has been approved. It
simply enables you to continue to practice until
a final determination has been made regarding
the waiver request.

The Board will review your waiver request and then
make a recommendation to the Director.

If your request for waiver is approved, you will be
notified in writing.

If your request for waiver is denied, you will receive
written notification of the denial and your license will
be placed into a nondisciplinary non-renewed status.

DFPR WEB SITE @ www.idfpr.com

Visit the Department's Web site. A number of services
are available on the Web. You may confirm a license,
submit a complaint, download application packets, and
send e-mail to DFPR.

eligible to renew on the Internet.

NOTE: If you are requesting a waiver of the continuing education requirement, you are not
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